National Assembly

We gather this year at the Emmanuel Centre, Marsham Street, London SW1 for the 15th Forward in Faith National Assembly in the wake of the July sessions of the General Synod, during which each and every opportunity to agree to equitable, proper provision for those of our integrity was spurned.

Immediately following the debate on 7th July, a joint statement from the Catholic Group in General Synod and Forward in Faith warned both the Synod and the Church of England at large that ‘actions always have consequences’. We now meet in order to settle what some of those consequences shall be.

Different in shape

This years Assembly will, therefore, be different in shape and in form. Over our two days together, we will hear a number of brief presentations which we hope will help us all better to understand what has happened and what will happen in the future.

Informed decisions

We hope to place before the delegates all that will be necessary in order for them to make informed decisions about the action which we must take.

Each presentation will be followed by a period of debate and discussion; following certain of the discussions, formal resolutions will be moved on behalf of the Forward in Faith Council.

Guiding discussions

Amongst those guiding our discussions, in addition to members of the Forward in Faith Executive, will be Fr Jonathan Baker, Fr James Patrick, Fr Sam Philpott and Fr Paul Benfield. In spite of all these priests on the platform, we hope that the lay delegates will not be slow in coming forward to tell us what they – and you – want Forward in Faith to do at this challenging juncture!

Devotional Address

The Friday evening will close as usual with a Devotional Address, which will this year be delivered by Prebendary Bill Scott, Sub-Dean of the Chapels Royal, Sub-Almoner, Deputy Clerk of the Closet and Domestic Chaplain to Her Majesty the Queen. Fr Bill is of course a distinguished former Vicar of St Mary the Virgin, Bourne Street and we particularly look forward to welcoming him to our Assembly.

Archbishop Hepworth

We also look forward to seeing Archbishop John Hepworth, the Primate of the Traditional Anglican Communion, along with three of his bishops: Bishop David Moyer from Pennsylvania, Bishop Harry Entwistle from Western Australia and Bishop David Robarts, Chairman of Forward in Faith Australia. Also due to be present is the Bishop of Quincy, Illinois, the Right Revd Keith Ackerman, President of Forward in Faith North America.

St Alban’s, Holborn

On the Saturday morning at 9.30 am, we will meet at St Albans, Holborn for the National Assembly Mass. Thanks are due to our good friend Fr Howard Levett, SSC, the Vicar of S.Albans for his hospitality again this year, as Christ the King, Gordon Square cannot at present cope with the numbers which the Assembly generates.

Unity of Christians

Our Chairman, the Bishop of Fulham, will preside and the Bishop of Beverley will preach at a Votive Mass for the Unity of Christians – we much look forward to hearing what Bishop Martyn has to say to us in these difficult days!

All members of Forward in Faith are as usual warmly invited to attend part or all of the National Assembly; for fuller details and to register as an Observer, please contact Colin Niblett at Gordon Square.

The FiF College of Deans

Anglia Regional Dean
Fr Alan Cross SSC: 020 8504 4687

Chichester Regional Dean
Fr Beau Brandie SSC: 01273 604687

Derby Regional Dean
Fr William Butt: 01246 472270

East Wessex Regional Dean
Fr Barry Fry SSC: 023 8022 3107

Kent Regional Dean
Fr David Herbert SSC: 020 8467 3809

Lichfield Regional Dean

London Regional Dean
Fr Malcolm Gray SSC: 020 8950 7860

Mercia Regional Dean
Fr Ronald Crane SSC: 0121 373 8348

Northern Yorkshire Regional Dean
Fr Gareth Jones: 01765 601745

Northumbria Regional Dean
Fr Beresford Skelton SSC: 0191 565 6318

Norwich Regional Dean
Fr Peter Keeling SSC: 01328 820310

North Wales Regional Dean
Fr Robert Rowland SSC: 01745 570750

Oxford Regional Dean
Fr Ross Northing SSC: 01908 562148

Scotland Regional Dean
Fr Len Black SSC: 01463 233797

South Wales Regional Dean
Fr Hadyn England-Simon SSC: 01443 433651

South Yorkshire & Notts Regional Dean
Fr Tony Delves SSC: 01709 898426

Southwark Regional Dean
Fr Andrew Stevens SSC: 020 8854 0461

Tamar Regional Dean
Fr Sam Philpott SSC: 01752 222007

The Marches Regional Dean
Fr John Pitchford SSC: 01684 575893

The North West Regional Dean
Fr Alan Cooke: 0161 624 2005

The Ouse Regional Dean
Fr Geoffrey Neal: 01234 720938

Trent Regional Dean
Fr Reginald Stretton: 01509 412935

Sub Dean Fr Paul Noble SSC: 01205 362734

West Wales Regional Dean
Fr Philip Wyn Davies SSC: 01974 299010

West Wessex Regional Dean
Fr Peter Clarke SSC: 01935 850408